Ensemblegeschichte

WEIMAR BAROQUE was founded in 2014, initially under the name "Orchester Viel Lärm Um Nichts" (Much Ado About Nothing) by baroque violinist Leopold Nicolaus and church musician Hans Christian Martin in Weimar. The ensemble's name saluting the Shakespearean tradition of Weimar, was changed in early 2019 to WEIMAR BAROQUE. The founders of the ensemble share a keen interest in combining detailed knowledge of style with the immediacy of a musical performance and, in addition to music literature, to include writings on religion and philosophy as well as visual arts and historical knowledge in their considerations.

Beginning with Night Concert series from 2015 to 2017 in the Jakobskirche Weimar, the ensemble has since then performed at the ‘Pfingst.Festival Schloss Ettersburg’2015, at the ‘Bachtage Ohrdruf' 2016, the ‘Bach Biennale Weimar' 2018 and in 2019 as part of the delegation of Chief Minister Bodo Ramelow in Vietnam. In 2020 WEIMAR BAROQUE will make its debut at the ‘Thüringer Bachwochen' as well as the ‘Bachfest Leipzig'.

The core of the ensemble consists of students and alumni of the Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar. Around them gather excellent musicians from various countries. The members have distinguished themselves by their extensive concert experience, competitions and recording activities. Among them are prize winners of numerous renowned national and international competitions, including the "Moeck/SRP Solo Recorder Competition" in London, the "International Competition Musica Antiqua" in Bruges, the "Biago-Marini Competition" in Neuburg/Danube, the "H. I. F. Biber Competition" St. Florian or the "Hamamatsu International Piano Competition" in Japan.

The ensemble feels connected to the artistic wealth of Europe and in particular to the spirit of the music that was heard and still sounds in Middle Germany. At present the focus is on repertoire of the 17th and 18th century. In the coming years, the ensemble will also place great emphasis on the 19th century.

 

„Viel Lärm Um Nichts“ mit Bachs Jagdkantate 2015 auf Schloss Ettersburg

Ensemblegeschichte

WEIMAR BAROQUE wurde 2014 zunächst unter dem Namen „Orchester Viel Lärm Um Nichts“ durch Barockgeiger Leopold Nicolaus und Kirchenmusiker Hans Christian Martin in Weimar gegründet. Der im Ensemblenamen gewählte Anklang der Shakespeare-Tradition Weimars erweiterte sich Anfang 2019 mit WEIMAR BAROQUE hin zur reichen, über sich hinausweisenden Kulturgeschichte der Stadt. Durch sie inspiriert, verbindet die beiden Gründer ein ausgeprägtes Interesse, detaillierte Stilkenntnisse mit der Unmittelbarkeit einer musikalischen Aufführung zu verbinden und neben der Musikliteratur in hohem Maße Schriften zu Religion und Philosophie sowie Bildende Kunst und Geschichtswissen in ihre Überlegungen einzubeziehen.


Beginnend mit einer Nachtkonzertreihe 2015-2017 in der Jakobskirche Weimar, war das Ensemble seitdem im Pfingst.Festival Schloss Ettersburg 2015, bei den Bachtagen Ohrdruf 2016, im Eröffnungskonzert der Bach Biennale Weimar 2018 und 2019 als Teil der Delegation von Ministerpräsident Bodo Ramelow in Vietnam zu erleben. 2020 feiert WEIMAR BAROQUE sein Debüt sowohl bei den Thüringer Bachwochen als auch beim Bachfest Leipzig.


Im Kern besteht das Ensemble aus Studentinnen, Studenten und Alumni der Hochschule für Musik „FRANZ LISZT“ Weimar. Um sie herum versammeln sich ausgezeichnete Musikerinnen und Musiker aus verschiedenen Ländern. Die Mitglieder zeichnen sich durch weitreichende Konzert-, Wettbewerbs- und Aufnahmetätigkeit aus. Es sind unter ihnen Preisträger zahlreicher renommierter nationaler und internationaler Wettbewerbe, darunter der „Moeck/SRP Solo Recorder Competition“ in London, der „International Competition Musica Antiqua“ in Brügge, der „Biago-Marini-Wettbewerb“ in Neuburg/Donau, der „H. I. F. Biber-Wettbewerb“ St. Florian oder der „Hamamatsu International Piano Competition“ in Japan.


Das Ensemble fühlt sich der Kunstfülle Europas und im Besonderen dem Geist der in Mitteldeutschland erklungenen und erklingenden Musik verbunden. Zurzeit steht Repertoire des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts im Mittelpunkt. Einen großen Schwerpunkt wird das Ensemble in den kommenden Jahren auch auf das 19. Jahrhundert legen.

„Viel Lärm Um Nichts“ mit Bachs Jagdkantate 2015 auf Schloss Ettersburg